Schreiner University Honors Faculty Award Winners

Schreiner University

Four faculty award winners recognized following the 2018-2019 academic year

Dr. Adrian Zapata

Dr. Adrian Zapata – the Harriet Garrett Award for Teaching Excellence

Kerrville, TX –Schreiner University recently recognized four faculty award winners following the 2018-2019 academic year. The recipients are Dr. Martin Lockerd – the Margaret Hosler Award for Excellence in Teaching; Dr. Maureen Russo – the Award for Excellence in Service; Dr. Kevin Hannay – the Award for Excellence in Research, Scholarship and Creativity; Dr. Adrian Zapata – the Harriet Garrett Award for Teaching Excellence.

The Margaret Hosler Award for Excellence in Teaching, awarded to Dr. Lockerd, assistant professor of English, honors a teacher who makes a difference in the life of a student. “The award isn’t for someone who gives students the opportunity to be different, but to someone who makes the difference,” said Dr. Charlie McCormick, Schreiner University President. “Believing in students is central to this work. Dr. Lockerd is a relative newcomer to the Schreiner faculty, but during his last few semesters here his influence has been profound. He already has established himself as one of our strongest scholars, a kind and capable advisor, and an outstanding instructor in the classroom.” Students – in their end of the semester evaluations – note Lockerd’s professionalism, his high expectations from his students, his love of his subject matter and his passion for teaching.

Dr. Russo, assistant professor of Spanish and Latin American studies, received the Award for Excellence in Service in recognition of her outstanding service to Schreiner University. She continued to teach a full load of classes, serve on campus committees and engage in university service. “I have witnessed firsthand her work as the chair of her committee,” said Dr. William Davis, Dean of Faculty at Schreiner University. “She has strong organizational skills, a keen eye for detail, and the ability to motivate faculty to complete program reviews in a timely manner.”

Dr. Hannay, assistant professor of Mathematics, was awarded the Excellence in Research, Scholarship, and Creativity Award. This award acknowledges the extent to which a faculty member exemplifies the model of the scholar-teacher by the quality and quantity of his or her research, scholarship, and/or creative output. “Dr. Hannay has a vital, ongoing research program at the interface of Biology and Mathematics,” said Davis. “This research has resulted in two peer-reviewed articles, six conference presentations, and one workshop in the past year. I have observed his patience and thoughtfulness as he guides his students through their research projects. To me, this work with our students exemplifies the teacher-scholar model at Schreiner University.”

Dr. Zapata, assistant professor of Chemistry, received the Harriet Garrett Award, which is voted on by the students. The Harriet Garrett Award was created to honor a long-time friend of Schreiner University, Miss Harriet Garrett, and became the first faculty award at Schreiner. “I am so happy [Zapata] has been recognized for the dedication, support, inspiration and love he provides to his students,” said Aleksandra Zapata, instructor of Chemistry at Schreiner – and Dr. Zapata’s spouse. “This award is so special because it is the students who voted for him and thought him worthy.”

“The Harriet Garrett award is one of the most prized honors that can be awarded to a Schreiner Faculty member,” said Dr. Zapata. “It is the only award solely voted on by the student body at the University. The faculty member is selected by the students on the criteria of teaching, integrity, advising, personal concern and high expectations for Schreiner students. I am truly humbled by this honor.”

Recent News

Event Calendar