Schreiner University presented 16 fifth-grade students from area elementary schools with $20,000 scholarships at a ceremony honoring the winners of the 2018 Rotary Youth Citizenship Awards. Along with these scholarships, the University also pledges to give ongoing college counseling to the students no matter their ultimate choice of university.

The students presented with the Rotary Youth Citizenship Award and the 4-year $20,000 scholarships are: Kaydance Armke and Jaeden Perez from Ingram ISD; Marshall Pool and Estrella Garcia from Hunt ISD; Gabriel Lopez and Maria Diaz from Centerpoint ISD; Samuel Euresti and Rachel Keller from Notre Dame Catholic School; Peyton Bailey and Carolina Albarez Chedzoy from Tally Elementary; Julian Rios and Astrid Lira from Starkey Elementary; Timothy Tijerina and Raylie Neutze from Nimitz Elementary; and Landon Likin and Evie Garrett from Tom Daniels Elementary.

The students are chosen by their teachers as embodying the Rotary’s motto of “Service Above Self.” The students must show characteristics of respect, responsibility, fairness, caring, trustworthiness and citizenship to receive the Rotary Youth Citizenship Award.

Out of the 16 students, Raylie Neutze of Nimitz Elementary, said she is excited. “I worked hard and this is a once-in-a-lifetime award.” Neutze’s grandmother, Amber Wood, was equally as excited, “It’s fantastic. I didn’t even know they did this. It’s just absolutely wonderful. We appreciate Schreiner.”

The 2018 awards are a collaborative effort between Schreiner University, Read2Win, five school districts, eight elementary schools, the Kerrville Daily Times, SERV Kerrville, and The Rotary Club of Kerrville.