Schreiner Wrestling’s Impressive First Year as Conference Champions

Schreiner University - National Collegiate Wrestling Association Southwestern Conference Championships

Going to Nationals

Schreiner University Mountaineers men’s and women’s wrestling teams competed in the National Collegiate Wrestling Association Southwestern Conference Championships on Mar. 2, at Richland College, in Dallas, TX. Led by head coach, Troy Jewell, and assistant coaches, Rufus A. Maxfield III and Manuel Rocha, both the men’s and the women’s teams – in just their first year of competition – walk away with NCWA southwestern conference titles. Coach Jewell was awarded the head coach of the year award for the conference.

On the women’s side, the five ladies who competed all finished as conference champions and qualified for this year’s national tournament. Alicia Messer at 109 lbs, Allie Mahoe Way at 116 lbs, Serena Cervantes at 130 lbs, Miriam Delagarza at 191 lbs and wrestling up in weight at Heavyweight, Alyssa Alveraz, all individual tournament champions qualifying them for a trip to the NCWA National Championships.

On the men’s side, there were eight in the finals out of 11 weights. They finished with six conference champions. Isaac Stalcup at 125 lbs, Camron Rodriguez at 133 lbs, Alex Alberto at 165, Brett Barefoot at 184 lbs, TiRyek West at 197 lbs and Robert Hernandez at 235 lbs all finished as tournament champions. The men’s team qualified 14 wrestlers for this year‘s NCWA National Championships.

Teams who competed in the NCWA Conference Championship were: The University of Texas, The University of Texas at Arlington, University of North Texas, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, Texas State, Missouri University of Science and Technology, University of Houston Downtown, Richland College, Wayne state University and University of Colorado.

The NCWA National Championships take place Mar. 14-16, at the Allen Event Center Arena in Allen, TX – just outside of Dallas. Schreiner University’s men’s and women’s wrestling teams will go head to head against collegiate wrestling teams from across the country competing for the national title. The national championships will consist of schools such as: Auburn University, Clemson University, Florida State, Penn State, Rutgers University, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, University of Alabama, University of Arizona, UCLA, University of Miami, Notre Dame, University of Texas and Yale.

Recent News

Event Calendar