Apply Today

McCormick Assumes Schreiner Presidency

Dr. Charlie McCormick

It’s a been a quiet transition—the fanfare will come next fall—but with the arrival of the new year there are new names outside several offices in the Tom Murray Building at Schreiner University.

Dr. Charlie McCormick, formerly provost and vice president for academic affairs, is officially the university’s sixth president effective Jan. 1, 2017.  His predecessor, Dr. Tim Summerlin, has moved down the hall to a temporary office, from which he will serve as chancellor through May.

The Board of Trustees announced in April that Dr. McCormick, who has been with Schreiner since 2009, would be next president.

Dr. Diana Comuzzie, formerly dean of the Trull School of Sciences and Mathematics, is now Provost and vice president for academic affairs. Dr. Kiley Miller, professor of chemistry, is now interim dean of the school of sciences and mathematics.

Diana Kiley

Cindy Becker, assistant to the president, and Brandi Rincon, administrative officer to the provost, continue in their previous positions.