About Our Church Relations

CrossSince its inception in 1917, Schreiner University has been a Presbyterian school, and throughout our history we have maintained this historic connection.

Today we are related by choice and by covenant to the Synod of the Sun, Presbyterian Church (USA).

However, a wide variety of churches and faith traditions are represented in the student body. There are currently seven recognized religious groups who meet regularly on campus. They include Baptist, Episcopal/Lutheran, United Methodist, Roman Catholic, Presbyterian, Jewish and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

These groups sponsor a wide variety of activities both individually and together that includes Bible studies, prayer groups, retreats, fellowship activities, etc. The Campus Ministry Council which includes representatives from each of the groups, coordinates the activities and programs of the campus ministries.

WorshipThere is a full time campus minister who teaches, counsels and works with students of all faiths or no faith.

The University offers a Bachelor of Arts degree in Religion, a Church Vocations Intern Program, and a special Presbyterian Heritage Grant for Presbyterian students who are nominated by their pastors.

In addition, a Director of Church Relations acts as a liaison between the University and Kerrville Area Churches as well as Presbyterian clergy and churches throughout the Synod of the Sun (Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana and Texas).